Calendar

2021 AIF European Investors’ Forum

2021 AIF European Investors' Forum

2021 AIF European Investors' Forum

September 28–30 | Connecting Investors Globally | Live Online

On behalf of AIF Global, we hope you will join us for the 2021 AIF European Investors’ Forum to be held September 28–30. The forum will be held in live online format, which will allow investors from across Europe, the Middle East, and North America to connect, participate in the critical discussions, and share best ideas, practices, and information.

The 2021 AIF European Investors’ Forum is geared toward institutional investment professionals that are deploying their capital globally. The custom, three-day agenda will cover a cross section of cutting-edge topics through various formats, including investment roundtable discussions among subject matter expert investors, consultants, and managers.

We are excited to feature special sessions devoted to the collaborative work by AIF Institute Centers of Excellence faculty members through the Center for ESG and Sustainable Investing and the Center for Financial Innovation. Read more on the AIF Institute Centers of Excellence

To ensure your participation in the 2021 forum, please register using the following link:

Agenda at a Glance

Day One: Tuesday, September 28

7:30–7:45 a.m. EDT
12:30–12:45 p.m. BST
1:30–1:45 p.m. CEST

Welcome and Introductions

Welcome:

  • Brant Maller, Founder and CEO, AIF Global

  • Melissa Waller, President, AIF Institute

Introduction:

  • Valérie Bénard, Head of Aksia Europe, Aksia LLC

7:45–8:45 a.m. EDT
12:45–1:45 p.m. BST
1:45–2:45 p.m. CEST

The Evolution of ESG Data and its Focus Among Investors

Introduction by:

  • Sharmila Kassam, Executive Director, AIF Institute

Moderator:

  • Valérie Bénard, Head of Aksia Europe, Aksia LLC

Panelists:

  • Jacqueline Amy Jackson, Head of Responsible Investment, London LGPS CIV Limited

  • Ferdinand Seibert, Managing Director, Zurich Alternative Asset Management

  • Robert Esposito, Senior Counsel, ESG, Apollo Global Management

  • Ladislas Smia, Head of Sustainability Research, Mirova

9:00–10:00 a.m. EDT
2:00–3:00 p.m. BST
3:00–4:00 p.m. CEST

Private Credit Session I: Core Strategies

Session Leader:

  • Leo Fletcher-Smith, Senior Vice President, European Private Credit Strategy Head, Aksia LLC

Session Participants:

  • Nedelina Lazarova, Investment Manager, HQ Trust

  • Robert Thompson, Senior Portfolio Manager-Credit, UPS

  • Amit Bafna, Managing Director, Antares Capital

  • James Kirby, Founder and President, Deerpath Capital Management, LP

  • Robin Doumar, Managing Partner, Park Square Capital, LLP

  • Andrew Radkiewicz, Global Head of Private Debt Strategy and Investor Solutions, PGIM Real Estate

10:15–11:15 a.m. EDT
3:15–4:15 p.m. BST
4:15–5:15 p.m. CEST

Private Credit Session II: Specialized Strategies

Session Leader:

  • Kellie Hata, Partner and Head of European Private Markets, Albourne Partners  

Session Participants:

  • Xevi Moreno Tarres, CIO, HNA

  • Joe Abrams, Head of Private Debt, Europe, Mercer

  • Robert Thompson, Senior Portfolio Manager-Credit, UPS

  • Stephen Quinn, Co-Head of Credit, 17Capital

  • Nicole Downer, Managing Partner, MV Credit

  • Andrew Springer, Partner and Senior Portfolio Manager, Marathon Asset Management

  • Justin Staadecker, Managing Director, HPS Investment Partners

Day Two: Wednesday, September 29

7:30–8:30 a.m. EDT
12:30–1:30 p.m. BST
1:30–2:30 p.m. CEST

Private Equity Session

Session Leader:

  • Michael Elio, Partner, StepStone Group

Session Participants:

  • Todd Cohen, Director-Investment Office, New York Presbyterian

  • Martin Fehr, Head of Private Equity, Managing Director, Group Asset Management, Swiss Re Management Ltd.

  • Andrew Bernstein, Head of Private Equity, Capital Dynamics

  • Tim Franks, Partner, KKR

  • Scott Humber, Partner, Ares Secondary Solutions, Ares Management

  • Joe Rogers, Managing Director, Audax Group

  • Andrew Tisdale, Senior Managing Director, Providence Equity

8:45–9:45 a.m. EDT
1:45–2:45 p.m. BST
2:45–3:45 p.m. CEST

Diversifying and Opportunistic Strategies

Session Leader:

  • Oliver Newton, Head of Hedge Fund Portfolios, Aksia LLC

Session Participants:

  • Dean Atkins, Managing Director, Investment Management, Europe, 400 Capital Management

  • Skardon Baker, Senior Partner, Head of European Principal Fund, Apollo Management International LLP

  • Deniz Cicek, Portfolio Manager, Axonic Systematic Arbitrage Fund, Axonic Capital

  • Frederick Pollock, Managing Director, Chief Investment Officer, Office of the Chairman, GCM Grosvenor

  • David Teitelbaum, Senior Managing Director and Head of our European Advisory Offices, Cerberus

10:00–11:00 a.m. EDT
3:00–4:00 p.m. BST
4:00–5:00 p.m. CEST

AIF Institute Center for Financial Innovation

Moderators:

  • Steven D’Mello, Partner, Operation Due Diligence,  Albourne Partners (Canada) Limited

  • Sharmila Kassam, Executive Director, AIF Institute

Panelists:

  • Aya Kantorovich, Head of Institutional Coverage, FalconX

  • John D’Agostino, Fellow, AIF Institute

Day Three: Thursday, September 30

8:00–9:00 a.m. EDT
1:00–2:00 p.m. BST
2:00–3:00 p.m. CEST

Harvard Business School Case Study: The Canada Pension Plan Investment Board (CPP Investments), April 2021

Presenter:

  • Josh Lerner, Ph.D., Jacob H. Schiff Professor of Investment Banking, Harvard Business School and Advisory Board Chair, AIF Global

Case Study Panelists: 

  • Elena Manola-Bonthond, CIO, CERN Pension Fund

  • Gaurav S. Amin, Head of Fintech and Implementation, Albourne Partners Limited

  • Tom Tull, Former CIO, Employees’ Retirement System of Texas

  • Winston Wenyan Ma, Adjunct Professor, NYU School of Law and Former Managing Director, CIC

9:15–10:15 a.m. EDT
2:15–3:15 p.m. BST
3:15–4:15 p.m. CEST

Real Estate Roundtable Session

Session Leader:

  • Peter Hobbs, Managing Director, Head of Private Markets, bfinance

Session Participants:

  • Dhruv Narain, Senior Portfolio Manager – Real Assets, Plenisfer Investments

  • Larissa Belova, Deputy Portfolio Manager, CBRE Global Investors

  • Warren de Haan, Managing Partner and Co-Chief Executive Officer, ACORE Capital

  • Jonathan Hollick, Head of European Real Estate & CIO ex DACH, UBS Asset Management

  • John Ruane, Co-Head, European Real Estate Equity, Ares Management

10:30–11:45 a.m. EDT
3:30–4:45 p.m. BST
4:30–5:45 p.m. CEST

Infrastructure Investing Roundtable Session

Session Leader:

  • Aaron Vale, Managing Director, CBRE Caledon Investment Management

Session Participants:

  • Anish Majmudar, Head of Real Assets, M&G Alternatives

  • Dhruv Narain, Senior Portfolio Manager – Real Assets, Plenisfer Investments

     

  • Nic DiLoretta, Managing Director, Head of Real Assets Research & Co-Investments, Aksia LLC

     

  • Deepa Bharadwaj, Executive Director, IFM Investors

     

  • Gwenola Chambon, CEO, Founding Partner, Vauban Infrastructure Partners

     

  • Lucy Heintz, Partner, Actis

     

  • Nicholas Moller, Investment Specialist, Infrastructure Investments Group, J.P. Morgan Asset Management

     

  • Yacine Saidji, Managing Partner and Co-Head of European Investing, Morgan Stanley Infrastructure Partners 

2021 AIF European Investors' Forum Confirmed Participants List

The investors and consultants below have confirmed their desire to participate (subject to any required internal approvals and final schedules)

Aksia LLC
Valérie Bénard, Head of Askia Europe
Leo Fletcher-Smith, CFA, Senior Vice President, European Private Credit Strategy Head
Oliver Newton, Head of Hedge Fund Portfolios
Nic DiLoretta, Managing Director, Head of Real Assets Research & Co-Investments

Albourne Partners
Gaurav S. Amin, Head of Fintech and Implementation
Kellie Hata, Partner, Head of European Private Markets
Evelina Klerides, Analyst
Steven D’Mello, Partner, Operational Due Diligence (Canada)

APG Asset Management
Pruthvi Bhat, Investment Risk Manager – Global Private Equity

bfinance
Peter Hobbs, Managing Director, Head of Private Markets

BVK
Suzana Mijucic, Investment Manager

Callan LLC
Sara Hakim, Senior Vice President

Cardano
Simone Tarozzi, Senior Investment Manager

CBRE Caledon Investment Management
Aaron Vale, Managing Director

CERN Pension Fund
Elena Manola-Bonthond, CIO

CM Capital Advisors / CHA Family Office
Daniel Eisenberg, Associate Director, Private Equity

Employees Retirement System of Texas
Tom Tull, CIO

HNA
Xevi Moreno Tarres, CIO

HQ Trust
Nedelina Lazarova, Investment Manager

Korea Federation of Small and Medium Business
Yunjeong Hong, Investment Manager

London LGPS CIV Limited
Jacqueline Amy Jackson, Head of Responsible Investment

LUMEN – CenturyLink
Paul Strong, Director

Mass Mutual
Phillip Titolo, Head of Direct Private Investments

M&G plc
Gordon Clark, MD
Anish Majmudar, Head of Real Assets

Mercer
Joe Abrams, Head of Private Debt, Europe
Tom Kierzkowski, Portfolio Manager

New York-Presbyterian
Tod Cohen, Director-Investment Office

New York State Teachers’ Retirement System
Nick Chladek, Manager of Private Equity – International

Osool Asset Management
Xavier Verdeyen, Chief Risk Officer

Perpetual Investors
Christian Wiehenkamp, CIO

Plenisfer Investments (Generali Group)
Dhruv Narain, Senior Portfolio Manager

Roots Investments
Volkert de Klerk, CIO

San Francisco Employees’ Retirement System
Cynthia Wong, Analyst

Santander UK
Marcelo Scenna, Director of ALM

School Employees Retirement System of Ohio
Adam Messerschmitt, Investment Officer – Global Private Credit

Sempra Energy
Carina Coleman, Director, Pension & Trust Investments

StepStone Group
Michael Elio, Partner

Swiss Re Management Ltd. 
Martin Fehr, Head of Private Equity, Managing Director, Group Asset Management

The Rockefeller University
Nicole Cai, Investment Analyst

Texas Permanent School Fund
Kathryn Gernert, Senior Portfolio Manager

Triglav Insurance
Neda Podergajs, Portfolio Manager

UPS
Robert Thompson, Senior Portfolio Manager-Credit

UTM Management
Kaiming Chiang, Director

Wafra Europe Ltd.
Tom Rotherham-Winqvist, Managing Director

West Virginia University Foundation
Kaylon McInelly, Associate VP, Investments

Weybourne
Jane Simpson, Investment Director

Wren House
Ahmad Al-Hamad, Director

Zurich Alternative Asset Management
Ferdinand Seibert, Managing Director
Dionysios Christopoulos, Director